CAAPP Book Prize

Founded in 2020, the CAAPP Book Prize is a publishing partnership between the University of Pittsburgh’s Center for African American Poetry and Poetics and Autumn House Press with the goal of publishing and promoting a writer of African descent. The prize is awarded annually to a first or second book by a writer of African descent and is open to the full range of writers embodying African and African diasporic experiences. The book can be of any genre that is, or intersects with, poetry, including poetry, hybrid work, speculative prose, and/or translation. The winning manuscript will be published by Autumn House Press and its author will be awarded $3,000.

2022 CAAPP Book Prize

  • The reading period opens on December 10, 2021, and is open until February 15, 2022.
  • Please submit a manuscript between 48 and 168 pages.
  • Submit here!

Final Judge: Evie Shockley

Evie Shockley


Evie Shockley is a poet and scholar. Her most recent poetry collections, the new black (Wesleyan, 2011) and semiautomatic (Wesleyan, 2017), both won the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award; the latter was also a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize and the LA Times Book Prize.  Her poetry has appeared internationally in print and audio formats, in English and in translation.  She has received the Lannan Literary Award for Poetry, the Stephen Henderson Award, the Holmes National Poetry Prize, and fellowships from the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study and Cave Canem, among others.  Shockley is Professor of English at Rutgers University.



2021 Winner: Jacqui Germain, Bittering the Wound, selected by Douglas Kearney

Jacqui’s winning manuscript will be published by Autumn House Press in 2022.

Photo of Jaqui Germaine with "Congratulations" and winning information repeated.

Honorable Mention: Leon Baham, The Book of Imaginary Boys


Finalists, in alphabetical order:
Micky Bayonne, Goldfish Reunion
Layla Benitez-James, Lush Alphabet
Hazem Fahmy, Semaphore
Ahja Fox, What Holds You at Night
Sherese Francis, PollyNation: The Seminary of Self
Destiny Hemphill, The MOTHERWORLD Devotions
Dani Janae, Motherless Fruit
Nawal Nader, an improvised song is likely to come apart and scatter in infinite directions
Olatunde Osinaike, Tender Headed
Krystle Statler, Threnody on Repeat




2020 Winner: Carly Inghram, The Animal Indoors, selected by Terrance Hayes

Carly’s winning manuscript will be published by Autumn House Press in 2021.

Photo of Carly Inghram with text: "Congratulations" + winning information repeated. More text: "Carly is a poet from Atlanta. She received an MFA in poetry from Columbia University. Her work is featured in The Indianapolis Review and Prelude, and her first collection, Sometimes the Blue Trees, was released from V.A press in 2019. Her cat, LIZO's, full birth name is Lorde (like Audre), Imari Zyrtec Ocean (like Frank). And he has an attitude about it."

"In The Animal Indoors, interior and exterior worlds blend with lyricism like 'the sudden violence of dry earth rising up in rain.' These poems sing as they please of The Real Housewives of Atlanta, Frank Ocean, and America’s 'edges flittering in the small light.' Melancholy and joy overlap, clap and slap. The Animal Indoors is full of capacious, capricious edges. This poet straddles worlds."
–Terrance Hayes

Honorable Mention: Mia Willis, mud kitchen

Finalists, in alphabetical order:
M. Saida Agostini, just let the dead in
Wale Ayinla, Sea Blues on Water Meridian
Layla Benitez-James, Casí se besan
Joshua Burton, Waltz
Jason B. Crawford, The Year of the Unicorn Kidz
Jive Poetic, Yesterlock
Lolita Stewart-White, black frag/ments